Home » Being, Story Time

Ignorance – Part III

Submitted by on Thursday, 2 December 2010One Comment

By Bardo Tulku Rinpoche

We could say that ignorance is an aspect of the kleshas. Kleshas [or afflicted emotions] refer to mental states such as attachment, aversion, ignorance, pride, and jealousy that defile the abandoning the kleshas that creates conditions within our minds that will allow us to utilize the other two approaches to working with the kleshas: transforming the kleshas into wisdom or recognizing their basic nature.

In theory it should be possible for us to transform the experience of kleshas into wisdom and to recognize their nature at any time. But for this transformation and recognition to occur, we need to have the power and freedom to do the practices of transformation and recognition. That power and freedom come from the attainment, which is the result of having purified to some degree the obscuration of the kleshas themselves.

We cannot transform the kleshas or recognize their nature until we have already worked with the kleshas by abandoning them to a great extent. In theoretical context, taking the kleshas on the path and in fact making the kleshas themselves the substance of the path leading to the result may be presented. But in practice, this is very difficult to apply.

Read Ignorance Part I
Ignorance Part II

Taught by Bardor Tulku Rinpoche. Translated by Lama Yeshe Gyamtso. Edited by Basia Coulter. Adapted with permission by Annie Bond. Copyright 2010 Bardor Tulku Rinpoche and Peter O’Hearn. All rights reserved. Bardor Tulku Rinpoche founded Kunzang Palchen Ling.


Share this post:

Rate this post:

VN:F [1.9.3_1094]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

One Comment »