Home » Being, Story Time

Chakra Meditation to Drive By

Submitted by on Saturday, 25 September 2010No Comment

By Annie B. Bond, author of Home Enlightenment (Rodale, 2007).

Chakras are vortexes of spiritual energy in our bodies, and they are housed from the base of our spine to above our heads. Spiritual leaders generally focus on the dominant seven chakras, the first being at the base of the spine, up to the seventh, just above the head.

From a spiritual healing perspective, the goal of clearing the chakras is to heal emotional wounds that have been stored in the chakra for years if not many life times. As the energy of pain is removed, you’ll feel greater well-being, greater clarity, move to a higher vibration, and be able to be more in “flow” with what feels right and true.

Starting with your first chakra (see below), let your eyes drink in the color associated with the chakra where your attention is focused, and ask for the color to nourish the chakra. Move up the chakras, one by one. One trip I take frequently takes three hours, so I spend a little less than half an hour on each chakra. Usually I get the intuitive sense when it is time to move onto the next chakra.

I’ve taken photos of signs and other color sources to give you examples of what you can find along the way. You’ll be amazed at how the color shows up when you are looking for it. Scroll down through this blog to see the flow of color from the red, to orange, to yellow, to green, to sky blue, to indigo, and finally, to lavender.

You might think that it will be hard to find the color purple on the highway, but you’d be surprised at how often it pops up just as you need it. A purple car drives by. Or, a truck with purple in the advertising message drives by. Often, you will see purple flowers along the roadside.

Don’t do this meditation for the first time if you are the driver. Only begin it when you know you can stay very centered in yourself and focused on the driving at hand.

First Chakra – Color Red
The first chakra is at the base of the spine and the energy spirals down towards the Earth.

Second Chakra – Color Orange
The second chakra is about two inches below the belly button

Third Chakra – Color Yellow
The third chakra is your solar plexus.

The Fourth Chakra – Color Green
The fourth chakra is your heart chakra.

The Fifth Chakra – Color Sky Blue
The fifth chakra is your throat.

The Sixth Chakra – Color Indigo

The sixth chakra is your third eye, or brow chakra.

The Seventh Chakra – Color Purple
The seventh chakra is your crown chakra, at the top of your head.

By Annie B. Bond, the best-selling and award-winning author of five healthy/green living books, including Better Basics for the Home (Three Rivers Press, 1999), Home Enlightenment, Clean & Green (1990), and most recently True Food (National Geographic, 2010 and winner of Gourmand Awards Best Health and Nutrition Cookbook in the World). She has authored literally thousands of articles and was named “the foremost expert on green living” by Body & Soul magazine (2009).


Share this post:

Rate this post:

VN:F [1.9.3_1094]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Comments are closed.